Setting up a 'VIEW_ONLY' Domain and Adding a New User to the K3S System

Description:  Setting up a 'VIEW_ONLY' Domain and Adding a New User to the K3S System


It is possible to set up an environment in K3S where a user is able to ‘view only’ the information within the system, but not able to update any files.


Once you establish the ‘VIEW_ONLY’ domain, you can assign users to it and block their ability to update information in the K3S system. 


The first set of instructions below will show you how to create the ‘VIEW_ONLY’ domain. Then you will learn how to add a new user to the K3S System (if needed)

so that you can assign the user to the ‘VIEW_ONLY’ domain. Note that instructions for assigning an existing user to the 'VIEW_ONLY' domain are in the next section.




1)  Create the 'VIEW_ONLY' Domain


Start from the K3S main menu and take option 9. Operations, and then choose option 3. Table codes


You are now on a screen that lists all of the table codes, use option 1=Select on Type DMN (Domains), then press F6=Add to add

a new domain. 

 

Fill out the entry screen to match the screen below where the Table code value is VIEW_ONLY and the Description 1 field is Domain

for VIEW_ONLY.  


Be sure to leave the Flag 1 field set to zero. 




                               

Press ENTER to add the domain and you will return to the screen listing all of the domains.  Notice that our new domain of VIEW_ONLY

is appearing in the list. 





If the user you want to assign to the VIEW_ONLY domain already exists, then you can skip to the next section which will instruct you

on how to assign an existing user to the VIEW_ONLY domain.  If you need to create the user you want to assign to the VIEW_ONLY

domain, then continue to the following section titled 'Adding a New User to the K3S System'.                                 



2)  Adding a New User to the K3S System  


Now we need to create our new user and assign him/her to the VIEW_ONLY domain. Press F3=Exit to get back to the main menu.  


Once you are back to the main menu choose option 8. Management controls and then choose option 7. User preferences


You are now on a screen listing all of the User preference records. To add a new user you must add a new User preference record. 

Press F6=Add to add the new record. 


Below is a picture of the default information for adding a new user. Notice how the default Domain shows the value of BUYERS. This

is the field you will want to change to VIEW_ONLY.


                                                                                                                                                                                                              


As an example, we will add new user JOHN (John Roche) with the new Domain value of VIEW_ONLY. Press ENTER when the User

and Domain fields are filled in.  


See example below:



                                                                       


You have now successfully assigned the new user JOHN to the domain of VIEW_ONLY.


Next: Changing a User's Domain to 'VIEW_ONLY'

Previous: Supplier, Product, and User Reminders

Comments